25 Days of omg.lol

Day 24

Well, here I am, almost exactly 24 hours away from Christmas, and I’m feeling a little down. Today’s post was supposed to be festive and feature-packed, but instead, I’m having to hack a bunch of stuff just to even publish this. Turns out I woefully underestimated the effort involved in refactoring the weblog.lol code, and I’m probably somewhere around half finished (though I don’t even know if I can trust that at this point).

Why did I pick today to try to refactor everything? I reached a point where I realized that my initial architecture (which had already undergone a large revision itself), while super fast from a content delivery standpoint, just wasn’t going to cut it for some of the more interesting features I want to add. So I rolled up my sleeves and decided to dive in, and I’m still there. 😄

I refuse to allow the 25 Days of omg.lol to end without some kind of awesomeness, and I have one final day to make that happen!

Keep an eye on Mastodon for updates on the weblog stuff. As of now, content is being served, but not from what’s in the web UI. Don’t panic, though! I’ll have it all synced up and running smoothly before long.

One last day! It’s kind of exciting and nerve-racking at the same time. Whatever happens, I’ll see you tomorrow!

— Adam